EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT 17 207 N. Main St. – Ainsworth, NE 69210 March 12, 2024

Present: Jody Dexter (Zoom), Jan Knispel, Mark Ormesher, Gerry Carr, Lisa Chohon, Roxie Lindquist, Jean Pinney, Geraldine Erickson, and Marit Kaiser

Absent: Bruce Ferguson

President Mark Ormesher called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m. The posting of the Open Meetings Act was acknowledged. The meeting notice was published on the ESU 17 website and on the front doors of ESU 17, Ainsworth Community Schools, Cody-Kilgore Unified Schools, Keya Paha County Schools, Rock County Public Schools, Valentine Community Schools and published in the Ainsworth Star Journal, Rock County Leader, Springview Herald, and Valentine Midland News.

- 1. Jan Knispel made a motion with a second from Gerry Carr to approve the agenda as printed. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- Lisa Chohon made a motion with a second from Roxie Lindquist to approve the minutes of the January 10, 2024, meeting. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson. Abstained: Jody Dexter.
- 3. Lisa Chohon made a motion with a second from Jean Pinney to approve the February 29, 2024, financial report with an ending balance of \$1,984,601.20. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 4. The listing of bills and claims was reviewed. Roxie Lindquist made a motion with a second from Gerry Carr to approve payment of claims totaling \$446,306.37. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 5. Jordan LeZotte and Robyn Wright gave a presentation on the PRT (Planning Region Team) grant. The purpose of the grant is to provide a basis for communication and problem solving for families with children, ages 0-5, who are experiencing developmental delays. Communication and problem solving is discussed among several agencies within the region. The grant also provides funding for community outreach and awareness to make sure people realize that services are available for children who have not reached school age.
- 6. Geraldine led a brief discussion regarding the administrative report. Geraldine attended a candidate forum in Ainsworth. Also discussed was the training center building. Geraldine discussed the Training Center building and possibilities for future plans. The PEaK Grant has been reduced for the upcoming year from approximately \$38K to \$11K.
- 7. A motion was made by Jan Knispel with a second from Lisa Chohon to accept the resignation of Kraig Lofquist, ESUCC Executive Director. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.

- 8. Jean Pinney made a motion to approve and pay the bills and claims in the absence or delay of a meeting in April with a second from Gerry Carr. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 9. Roxie Lindquist made a motion to approve the hire of Sterling Reeves, ESUCC (Nebraska Cyber Security Network), with a second from Lisa Chohon. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 10. Lisa Chohon made a motion to excuse the absence of Bruce Ferguson. Jean Pinney seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 11. The next board meeting will be April 9, 2024, at 10:00 a.m., with a Zoom option.
- 12. Mark Ormesher made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:16 a.m.

Secretary	