EDUCATONAL SERVICE UNIT 17 207 N. Main St. – Ainsworth, NE 69210 October 10, 2023

Present: Jody Dexter, Jean Pinney, Jan Knispel, Lisa Chohon, Roxie Lindquist, Gerry Carr, Mark Ormesher, Marcia Herring, NASB representative, Kelli Gibson, Geraldine Erickson, Marit Kaiser and Jan Foster.

Absent: Bruce Ferguson.

President Roxie Lindquist called the meeting to order at 10:24 a.m. The posting of the Open Meetings Act was acknowledged. The meeting notice was published on the ESU 17 website and on the front doors of ESU 17, Ainsworth Community Schools, Cody-Kilgore Unified School, Keya Paha County Schools, Rock County Public Schools, Valentine Community Schools and published in the Ainsworth Star Journal, Rock County Leader, Springview Herald and Valentine Midland News.

- 1. Lisa Chohon made a motion with a second from Gerry Carr to approve the agenda as printed. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 2. A motion was made by Jean Pinney to approve the absence of board member Bruce Ferguson. Jan Knispel seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 3. A motion was made by Lisa Chohon and seconded by Jan Knispel to approve the minutes of the September 11, 2023, budget hearing, tax request hearing and regular meeting. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 4. Marcia Herring, NASB Director of Board Development, stated NASB has a goal to meet with each ESU Board. She shared brochures and informational materials regarding Legislative Resolution 240 and NASB Board Governance Standards. NASB is providing ESUs with resources and support similar to that provided to schools. She asked the board members for advocacy ideas for her to take back to Nebraska Association of School Boards.
- 5. Kelli Gibson shared an overview of Generative Artificial Intelligence. She also presented this information at the October 9, 2023, Superintendent meeting. She explained ways that artificial intelligence can be used effectively in the field of education.
- 6. Lisa Cohon made a motion to approve the September 30, 2023, financial report ending with a balance of \$1,665,472.36. Gerry Carr seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimously approved. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 7. The listing of bills and claims was reviewed. A motion was made by Jody Dexter and seconded by Jean Pinney to approve payment of claims totaling \$394,903.68. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.

8.	Geraldine and Jeff created an administrator evaluation document to be shared with and	
	completed by ESU 17 staff. A letter of resignation effective January 31, 2024, was received from	
	lan Foster	

- 9. Roxie Lindquist shared the administrator evaluation results and comments with the Board.
- 10. Jan Knispel made a motion to approve the administrator evaluation. Mark Ormesher seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 11. A motion to accept the resignation of Jan Foster effective January 31, 2024, was made by Lisa Chohon. Gerry Carr seconded the motion. Roll call vote as follows: Lisa Chohon, yes; Gerry Carr, yes; Roxie Lindquist, yes; Jan Knispel, yes; Mark Ormesher, yes; Jean Pinney, no; Jody Dexter, yes. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 12. Jan Knispel made a motion with a second by Lisa Chohon to approve payment of bills and claims in November in the delay or absence of a meeting. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 13. A motion was made by Mark Ormesher and seconded by Jan Knispel to move to adopt the board policy identified as Article 4, Personnel, as presented and to repeal and rescind all existing board policies that pertain to the same matter or that are otherwise conflicting, including without limitation existing policy Article 4. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.
- 14. Lisa Chohon made a motion to set the next board meeting date for Monday, November 13, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. at the ESU 17 Conference Room. Jean Pinney seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimously approved. Absent: Bruce Ferguson.

5. Jean Pinney made	e a motion to adjourn ti	ne meeting at 11:43 a.m.
		-
Secretary		